Founded in 1976 by Colin Newman (guitar & vocals), Graham Lewis (bass & vocals), Bruce Gilbert (guitar) and Robert Grey (drums), WIRE developed their own musical style in the British tradition of left-field art-school bands, which also includes Roxy Music (incl. Brian Eno) and Pink Floyd.
The punk movement that was emerging at the same time allowed the band to reach a wider audience and so they gave their debut concert at London’s Roxy club on 1 April 1977, of which excerpts were released in the sampler ‘Live At The Roxy, London – April 1st & 2nd 1977)’ and some years later the whole concert Live at The Roxy London – April 1st & 2nd 1977.

WIRE pink flag WIRE chairs missing WIRE 154

Their first three studio albums Pink Flag (1977), Chairs Missing (1978) and 154 (1979), which were highly acclaimed by the press and influenced bands like My Bloody Valentine, Blur, R.E.M. Henry Rollins, Joy Division, were musically groundbreaking.
After a break (1980-85) and various solo projects, WIRE reformed for live concerts and released the Snakedrill EP in 1985. Further albums followed until WIRE ceased operations at the end of 1980.
In 2000, all four members of the original formation got together again, played various concerts and released the album Send in 2003, followed by other albums until the 15 studio album Silver/Lead in 2017. According to TheGuardian with “some of the strongest tunes they’ve ever done”.
Since 2010, Matthew Simms has been a guitarist, after Bruce Gilbert had given himself Emeritus status.
For more information about WIRE please visit the official website Pinkflag.com!

PEOPLE IN A FILM

In summer 2019 Malcom Boyle (producer, director), supported by Graham Duff (screenplay), started the crowdfunding campaign for the realization of the film WIRE- PEOPLE IN A FILM.
people in a film This documentary, in close collaboration with WIRE, aims to express the true essence of the band – the individual personalities, their music, their worldview, their history and their future. A first impression gives the crowdfunding taster on Vimeo.
On 13th July 2019 an exclusive funding launch event took place at the ‘state51 factory’ in London where all five members (past & present) of Wire were interviewed by Graham Duff. The livestream of this unique event can be still watched on Youtube.

The crowdfunding campaign was also the start of the collaboration between Malcolm Boyle (Underground Head Film) and Bruno W (mital-U) to realize the film. On the one hand Bruno W will support the film as ‘Executive Producer’, on the other hand mital-U will cooperate with ‘Underground Head Film’ in the further production and promotion of the film (incl. DVD/BlueRay).
We are happy to support Malcolm Boyle and Graham Duff in the realization of the film (+DVD/BlueRay) about the definitive postpunk band WIRE.
Further Information about the film: WIRE – people in a film

Gegründet 1976 durch Colin Newman (Gitarre & Stimme), Graham Lewis (Bass & Stimme), Bruce Gilbert (Gitarre) und Robert Grey (Schlagzeug) entwickelte WIRE einen eigenen Musikstil in der britischen Tradition der ‚left-field art-school bands‘, zu der auch Roxy Music (inkl. Brian Eno) und Pink Floyd gehören.
Die zur selben Zeit aufkommende Punk-Bewegung ermöglichte der Band sich einem breiteren Publikum bekannt zu machen und so gaben sie am 1. April 1977 ihr Debut-Konzert in London’s Roxy club, wovon Ausschnitte im Sampler ‚Live At The Roxy, London – April 1st & 2nd 1977)‘ und einige Jahre später das gesamte Konzert Live at The Roxy London – April 1st & 2nd 1977 veöffentlicht wurde.

WIRE pink flag WIRE chairs missing WIRE 154

Musikalisch wegweisend waren jedoch ihre drei ersten Studioalben Pink Flag (1977), Chairs Missing (1978) und 154 (1979), welche von der Fachpresse äusserst positiv rezensiert wurde sowie Bands wie My Bloody Valentine, Blur, R.E.M. Henry Rollins, Joy Division beeinflusst haben.
Nach einer Pause (1980-85) und diversen Solo-Projekten reformierte sich WIRE für Live-Konzerte und veröffentlichte 1985 die Snakedrill EP. Weitere Alben folgten bis WIRE Ende 1980 erneut den Betrieb einstellte.
Im Jahr 2000 kamen alle vier Mitglieder der Ursprungsformation wieder zusammen, spielten diverse Konzerte und veröffentlichten 2003 das Album Send, gefolgt von weiteren Alben bis zum 15 Studio-Album Silver/Lead im Jahr 2017. Gemäss TheGuardian mit „einigen der stärksten Songs, die sie je gemacht haben“.
Seit 2010 ist Matthew Simms als Gitarrist dabei, nachdem sich Bruce Gilbert in den Emeritierungs-Status begeben hatte.
Für weitere Informationen über WIRE besuche die offizielle Website Pinkflag.com!

PEOPLE IN A FILM

Im Sommer 2019 startete Malcom Boyle (Produzent, Regisseur), unterstützt von Graham Duff (Drehbuch), die Crowdfunding-Kampagne zur Realisierung des Films WIRE- PEOPLE IN A FILM.
people in a filmDiese Dokumentation soll, in enger Zusammenarbeit mit WIRE, das wirkliche Wesen der Band aufzeigen – die einzelnen Persönlichkeiten, ihre Musik, ihre Weltanschauung, ihre Geschichte und ihre Zukunft. Einen ersten Eindruck vermittelt der crowdfunding taster auf Vimeo.
Am 13. Juli 2019 fand in der ’state51 factory‘ in London eine exklusive Auftaktveranstaltung statt, bei der alle fünf Mitglieder (früher & heute) von WIRE von Graham Duff interviewt wurden. Der Livestream dieser einzigartigen Veranstaltung kann weiterhin auf Youtube angeschaut werden.

Die Crowdfunding-Kampagne war zugleich der Start der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Malcolm Boyle (Underground Head Film) und Bruno W (mital-U) zur Realisierung des Films. Einerseits wird Bruno W als ‚Executive Producer‘ den Film unterstützen, andererseits wird mital-U bei der weiteren Produktion und Promotion des Films (inkl. DVD/BlueRay) mit ‚Underground Head Film‘ zusammenarbeiten.
Wir freuen uns Malcolm Boyle und Graham Duff bei der Realisierung des Films (+DVD/BlueRay) über die definitive Postpunk Band WIRE unterstützen zu dürfen.
Weitere Informationen zum Film: WIRE – people in a film