The group was initiated in 1981 by Bruno W, after several ‘Punk-activities’ (a.o. articles for fanzines, production of the first Swiss-Punk LP). As a typical postpunk band mittageisen developed their individual music style (based on synthesizer & drum-machine, guitar, bass guitar) and became one of the first darkwave band.

Among various concerts (the first one on March 6th 1981 as 7C0 = 1984 in Hex-Code) mittageisen became mittageisen, not least by the release of their LP one of the most profiled german-speaking post-punk band. Their album became ‘Record of the Week’ the Swiss radio programme Sounds!, which is specialised in new sounds, and not least often played in radio stations in Germany, Holland, Japan. Accordingly positive were the reviews in various music magazines! Besides the music the expressive lyrics, which produced together with the melodies a special athmosphere, made the songs and the group famous!

band-members:
1981 – Daniel S: guitar / Markus S: guitar, voice / Bruno W: synthesizer, rhythm – 1982 – Daniel S: guitar / Markus S: guitar, voice / Ursula S: bass / Bruno W: synthesizer, rhythm – 1982/83 – Daniel S: Gitarre / Markus S: Gitarre / Bruno W: Synthesizer, Rhythmus – 1983 – Daniel S: guitar / Markus S: guitar, voice / Markus St: bass / Manuela H: synthesizer / Bruno W: synthesizer, voice, rhythm – 1984 – Daniel S: guitar, bass / Manuela H: synthesizer / Bruno W: synthesizer, voice, rhythm – 1985 – Daniel S: guitar / Markus St: bass / Manuela H: synthesizer / Bruno W: synthesizer, voice, rhythm – 1986 – (mittageisen v2)

The name ‘mittageisen’ means iron-meal and based on a photomontage made by John Heartfield in 1934. This picture was published on the frontpage of the ‘Arbeiter Illustrierten Zeitung’ (Workers Illustrated Journal), published on December 19th 1935. Heartfield (1891-1968) was an early member of Club Dada, which started 1916 as Cabaret Voltaire in Zürich.

The picture with the original-title ‘Hurrah, the butter is out’ shows a family who eats various pieces of metal! The trigger for it was the following sentence of a Göring-speach: “Iron made a nation always strong, butter and lard made only the people fat.”
Siouxsie and the Banshees published 1979 the single ‘metal postcard / mittageisen’, which they dedicated to John Heartfield.

After several changes of musicians mittageisen developed musically and released in Jnauary 1985 a maxi-single with the songs ‘automaten’ and ‘neues china’. The danceable song automaten, with an electro sound that was new for the time, was again ‘Record of the Week’ at various radio stations and music magazines. The single also found its way into the John Peel show on BBC Radio 1 and became an indie disco hit in the UK and other countries. The 1994 produced video for the song ‘automaten’ can be watched furthermore on YouTube.

After some concerts – among others with bands like Liliput, The Vyllies, Propaganda – and last demo recordings the band split up in 1986. Bruno W published some years later under the name mittageisen v2 the single ‘geld – arbeit’ (money – work), which was published in two editions with different versions. On the second edition he worked together with Marco Repetto, a member of the famous NDW-band GRAUZONE, Techno and Ambient DJ, musician and producer.

A comprehensive insight into the musical work of mittageisen offers the double CD mittageisen 1981-1986 remastered, with 19 digital remastered tracks (including 6 previously unreleased) and a 24-page booklet.

Die Gruppe wurde 1981 von Bruno W – nach verschiedenen ‚Punk-Aktivitäten‘ (u.a. Beiträge für Fanzines, Produktion 1.Swiss-Punk LP) – initiiert. Als typische Postpunk-Band entwickelte mittageisen einen individuellen Musikstil (basierend auf Synthesizer & Drumcomputer, Gitarre, Bassgitarre) und wurde eine der ersten deutschsprachigen Darkwave-Band.

Neben diversen Konzerten (das Erste am 6.März 1981 als 7C0 = 1984 in Hexadezimal-Code) wurde mittageisen, nicht zuletzt durch die Veröffentlichung ihrer LP Anfang 1983, zu einer der profiliertesten deutschsprachigen PostPunk-Band. Ihr Album wurde ‚Platte der Woche‘ der auf neue Töne spezialisierten Sendung Sounds! des Schweizer Radios und nicht zuletzt in Radiostationen in Deutschland, Holland, Japan oft gespielt. Entsprechend positiv waren die Rezensionen in diversen Musik-Magazinen! Neben der Musik überzeugten vor allem die expressiven Texte, welche zusammen mit den Melodien atmosphärische Stimmungsbilder erzeugten!

Band-Mitglieder: 1981 – Daniel S: Gitarre / Markus S: Gitarre, Stimme / Bruno W: Synthesizer, Rhythmus – 1982 – Daniel S: Gitarre / Markus S: Gitarre / Ursula S: Bass / Bruno W: Synthesizer, Rhythmus – 1982/83 – Daniel S: Gitarre / Markus S: Gitarre / Bruno W: Synthesizer, Rhythmus – 1983 – Daniel S: Gitarre / Markus S: Gitarre, Stimme / Markus St: Bass / Manuela H: Synthesizer / Bruno W: Synthesizer, Stimme, Rhythmus – 1984 – Daniel S: Gitarre, Bass / Manuela H: Synthesizer / Bruno W: Synthesizer, Stimme, Rhythmus – 1985 – Daniel S: Gitarre / Markus St: Bass / Manuela H: Synthesizer / Bruno W: Synthesizer, Stimme, Rhythmus – 1986 – (mittageisen v2)

Der Name ‚mittageisen‘ basiert auf einer Fotomontage von John Heartfield aus dem Jahre 1934. Dieses Bild wurde als Titelblatt für die ‚Arbeiter Illustrierten Zeitung‘ vom 19.Dezember 1935 verwendet. Heartfield (1891-1968) war ein frühes Mitglied vom Club Dada, welcher 1916 als Cabaret Voltaire in Zürich startete.

Das Bild mit dem Original-Titel ‚Hurrah, die Butter ist alle‘ zeigt eine Familie welche Eisen verzehrt! Der Auslöser dazu war folgender Satz einer Göring-Rede: „Erz hat stets ein Reich stark gemacht, Butter und Schmalz haben höchstens ein Volk fett gemacht.“
Siouxsie and the Banshees veröffentlichten 1979 die Single ‚metal postcard‘, welche sie John Heartfield widmeten.

Nach diversen Musiker-Wechsel entwickelte sich mittageisen musikalisch weiter und veröffentlicht im Januar 1985 eine Maxi-Single mit den Songs ‚automaten‘ und ’neues china‘. Der tanzbare Song automaten, mit einem für die damalige Zeit neuartigen Electrosound, wurde wiederum ‚Platte der Woche‘ bei verschiedenen Radio-Stationen und Musik-Zeitschriften. So fand die Single auch den Weg in die John Peel-Show auf BBC Radio 1 und avancierte zum Indie-Disco-Hit in UK und weiteren Ländern. Das im Jahr 1994 produzierte Video zu ‚automaten‘ kann weiterhin auf YouTube angeschaut werden.

Nach einzelnen Konzerten – u.a. mit Bands wie Liliput, The Vyllies, Propaganda – und letzten Demo-Aufnahmen löste sich die Band im Jahr 1986 auf. Bruno W publizierte einige Jahre später unter dem Namen mittageisen v2 die Single ‚geld – arbeit‘, welche in zwei Auflagen mit unterschiedlichen Versionen veröffentlicht wurde. Bei der zweiten Produktion arbeitete er mit Marco Repetto, dem ehemaligen GRAUZONE-Mitglied und heutigen Techno und Ambient DJ, Musiker und Produzent zusammen.

Einen umfassenden Einblick in das musikalische Werk von mittageisen bietet die Doppel-CD mittageisen 1981-1986 remastered, mit 19 digital remasterten Stücken (inkl. 6 bisher unveröffentlichten) und 24-seitigem Booklet.