The following text is a short-story about Punk. The content is based on personal experiences plus publications from/about this time, like fanzines and books.

Malcolm McLaren and Vivienne Westwood inside ‘Let it Rock’ Dec.1971 Kings Road, London, October 1971 : Malcolm Robert Andrew Edwards (aka Malcolm McLaren) and Vivienne Westwood moved into the back of the shop in number 430.

McLaren and Westwood were greatly impressed by the Teds style. It was Vivienne Westwood who quickly found that these Teds had to get all their clothes hand made and there was a gap in the market.

They took over the shop, called it Let it rock and began to exploit this gap!

Malcolm McLaren und Vivienne Westwood im 'Let it Rock' Dez.1971McLaren was in the sixties student at Croydon Art School. ‘I learnt all my politics and understanding of the world through the history of art’, he sayed. McLaren began to try out ideas: ‘Plagiarism is what the word is about. If you didn’t start seeing things and stealing because you were so inspired by them, you’d be stupid’. At Croydon he met Jamie Reid another art-student, who made some years later covers and posters for the Pistols records.

The riots that occured in Paris during May 1968 got also attention in London. Their cryptic phrases were the perfect medium for this revolt. The magazines of the Situationist International (SI) collected in a special technique – as the dadaists ages ago – the graffiti and posters of the student protest. SI material was also available at London bookshops, where McLaren found and bought it. He had also contact to a London-group of situationists called King Mob. Through this influence he and Jamie Reid developed their taste for new media practise.

In just over two years – with an exhibition of their clothes-designs in New York and contact with the local music-scene – McLaren and Westwood had learned how subcultures work. They had seen how those interacted with the media, music and fashion industries. Both felt that it was the time to start connecting this experience with their own ideas. They started to gather friends with specific skills around them. Vivienne wanted to expand the T-shirts to take on more complicated ideas, mixing sexual taboos with situationist slogans. Bernard Rhodes (later manager of the Clash) was an ideal colleague with practical skill of printing and his interest for minimalism and dadaism.

At the end of 1974 McLaren traveled back to New York. He tried to give the New York Dolls a new image with clothes made by Vivienne Westwood. A mix of fashion, sex, communist sign and slogans. But it was to political for the NY music-scene. The Dolls splitted up and a new generation of bands occupied the clubs: Richard Hell and his group Television, the Ramones and Patti Smith whome regarded McLaren as urban poets.

Jordan vor dem Laden 'SEX'While McLaren was in New York, Vivienne Westwood had to establish the new identity of the shop. She sloganised her designs as clothes for heroes and connected the wearing of them with the expression of an attitude. They changed the name of the shop to SEX (changed 1976 to SEDITIONARIES and 1981 to WORLDS END).

But McLaren and Westwood understood that it wasn’t enough to have a name and ideas: They needed to be translated into physical form. With the arrival of Jordan, they gained a front-women who was a living advertisement for the new shop. She was the first Sex Pistol!

McLaren returned to London in May 1975 and he was impressed by Jordan’s appereance and the way in which a few teenagers were incorporating the shops clothes into their look. One of the regularly visitors was Steve Jones a guitar-player in a band called ‘The Strand’ (after the Roxy Music song). Other members were Paul Cook and for a temporary time Warwick Nightingale. They needed a Manager and McLaren had looked for a band to made his – NY inspired – vision true. As one day McLaren went to hear them, he saw a group that had no permanent bassist and no stage presence. The first thing to do was to find a bass-player. McLaren found one in Glenn Matlock, a student who used to help out in the shop on saturdays.

Then McLaren was looking for a special front man to form his ultimate garage band. John Lydon was coming often into the shop. He was first approached by Bernard Rhodes (the later Clash manager), who was struck by his green hair and the ripped-up and sticked by safety-pins Pink Floyd T-shirt with the slogan I hate over it! Responding to Rhodes’ enthusiasm McLaren asked him if he could sing and Lydon replied: ‘No only out of tune and anyway I play the violin’ … and the Sex Pistols were complete.

Wieviele Brücken haben wir zu überqueren, bevor wir den Boss treffenHow many bridges do we have to cross, before we get to meet the boss In 1975 England was in a deep recession, the number of unemployees was the worst since the Second World War. School-leavers were among the most vulnerable. The public spending had risen to 45 percent of the national income. At this time state-control – through nationalized industries and a vast bureaucracy – seemed to be on the way to Orwell’s 1984! In February 1975 Mrs Thatcher became Conservative Party leader and began to propagate her ideology based on the primacy of the individual (or better egoism). Slogans with messages as SAME THING DAY AFTER DAY – TUBE – WORK – DINER – WORK – TUBE – ARMCHAIR – TUBE – WORK – HOW MUCH MORE CAN YOU TAKE – ONE IN FIVE CRACKS UP were painted on walls.

The music-business was dominated by expensive (over)produced Pop and ‘progressive’ Rock. The hopes of the early seventies, David Bowie and Roxy Music, changed their image with every album release into a more commercial style. But they made the first postmodern records and the attempt to create a new pop-generation. Style not only music was important. It was the sensibility and combination of fashion, art & music based on works of Andy Warhol and Velvet Underground, George Orwell and Stanley Kubricks A Clockwork Orange.

In 1975 new bands had no chance to produce and promote their records until McLaren began to manage the Sex Pistols. He organized the first concerts and for some months they toured the country. There weren’t many people at the performances, but from the very beginning the Pistols polarized their tiny audiences and at each concert one or two people followed them. Some of them built later their own groups like Chrissie Hynde (Pretenders), Viv Albertine (the Slits), Joe Strummer and Mick Jones (the Clash), Howard Trafford (aka Devoto: the Buzzcocks, Magazine), Peter McNeish (aka Shelley: Buzzcocks), Peter Hook and Bernard Sumner (Joy Division, New Order), Morrissey, Tony James (Chelsea, GenerationX), Adam Ant, Bruce Gilbert (Wire), and others.

In July 1976 the Sex Pistols recorded seven songs with Dave Goodman on a four-track machine. These were Anarchy in the UK, Pretty Vacant, Seventeen, Satellite, Problems, I wanna be me and Submission. With these tapes McLaren made his first assault on the music industry. But the primary purpose of the companies is to take money and at that moment they didn’t see any chance to earn it from Sex Pistols records. McLaren decided to hold another big event at Islington’s Screen on the green. At the end of August the Midnight Special pulled together the Buzzcocks, the Clash and the Sex Pistols in Punk’s first metropolitan test of strength. Waiting for all three groups were not only the fans but also journalists, photographers and A&R men. The Pistols, especially John Lydon made a totally different performance as the other two bands and got the main-attention of the media.

Sue Catwoman vom Bromley ContingentIn this time a Pistols concert plugged them together with a group of teenage stylists, who created a subcultural ambience around the group: the Bromley Contingent!

Caroline Coon wrote in the Melody Maker about the punky bands and Mark Perry published the first fanzine called Sniffin Glue (from a Ramones song) and announced itself to be FOR PUNKS. The idea behind this first fanzine was more important than the contents: Anybody with a certain command of english and a few pounds (for photocopying) could publish their own statements.

Than McLaren and his team of Glitterbest organized the Punk Festival at the ‘100 Club’ in London. There was a vacant space and it has been discussed between McLaren and members of the Bromley Contingent. Siouxsie answered: ‘We’ve got a band’!

Plakat für das Punk-Rock Festival im '100 Club' von Jamie ReidSiouxsie & the Banshees with Sid Vicious drums, Marco Pirroni guitar, Steve Severin bass and Siouxsie Sioux vocals. So they gave their first concert with the Sex Pistols on 20th September, the Clash and Subway Sect; on the 21st, the Damned, Vibrators with Chris Spedding, Buzzcocks and Stinky Toys from France.
Attempting to work on songs at this late stage was obviously impractical, but setting the Lord’s Prayer to a barrage of improvised sound was not. Add a few lines from songs like Twist and Shout and Knocking on Heavens Door and the performance was complete. The Banshees had taken the idea that ‘anybody could do it’, as Sid Vicious said ‘Just pick a chord, go twang and you’ve got music’!

The Pistols played there one of their best performances and every present person felt that it was enough power for a big explosion. Small eruptions of this energy were at most of the Pistols-concerts, throwing beer-glasses to the stage, spitting and brawls in the audience but also with band-members. The result was that the Pistols were banned from many clubs.
After the Punk festival the record company EMI signed the Sex Pistols. Two days later the band went into a studio to record their first single Anarchy in the UK and on 27.November EMI released the single. Then on the evening of 1.December the Sex Pistols had the chance for an appearance on the local London TV show Thames Today presented by Bill Grundy. The Pistols had brought also four of the Bromley Contingent (Siouxsie, Simone, Steve and Simon) with them. A drunken Grundy provoced the eight and got corresponding answers with rude words and grimaces (transcript of the dialogue). Too much for a ‘serious’ TV show and dumb TV-watchers and enough to catch all the press-headlines the next day. Before the TV-show Punk was just ‘bad’ music, after it the media-theme.
And further reaction for the Pistols: they were banned from playing thirteen out of nineteen tour-dates, most commercial radio stations were refusing to play the Sex Pistols, record-chains stoped selling the single and at least EMI cancelled the contract with the band.

Singles, Batches, Fanzines

But Punk couldn’t be stopped at this time. A lot of new Punk-bands were born and played in various clubs in every greater city. New fanzines and, as one of the great Punk-innovations, new record-labels and distributors (f.e. Rough Trade) were founded. This small and independent companies linked together with record-shops, live-clubs and fanzine-writers in UK – and a bit later also in the rest of Europe and the USA – and gave the bands the necessary infrastructure to publish and promote their own records!

But also every major-company signed a Punk-band like CBS the Clash and Island the Damned. Both groups recorded their first albums and published them the following months. After three months without a record-contract the Pistols signed with A&M Records in front of the Buckingham Palace. Now with Sid Vicious – an old friend of John – on Bass who replaced the sacked Glen Matlock.

The first single for A&M had already been decided: It should be the song that John had written for the Queen’s Silver Jubilee: God save the Queen. The record-cover, the posters, handbills, adverts and stickers were designed by Jamie Reid. As 25’000 copies of the singles were being pressed, the company got in panic about the consequences of this release and they finished the contract too after eight and a half weeks.

On 10th April after a free Pistols concert at the Roxy Club with the Slits Virgin became interest on the Pistols and they signed a record contract. The promotion plan for God save the Queen continued and the single came out just two weeks before the official ceremony. The record went on sale on the 27th May 1977 and sold 150’000 copies in five days, enough to send it into the charts at number eleven. The world took notice! God save the Queen was shocking, not only because it said the present was a lie but also because it prophesied a dreadful future: No future for you and me!

By the time of the Jubilee weekend the Pistols became no possibilities to play in a club. So McLaren decided to hold a promotional performance on the River Thames. He hired the boat Queen Elizabeth for sunday and the Pistols with their followers catched the boat and began to play on the top-deck. During the second song two police launches began to circle the Pistols-boat and then they had to move to a landing stage where massed policemen waited for the boat. By the time the boat docked, the situation got over in chaos. The police began to manhandle members of the audience and a struggle developed. Eleven people among them Vivienne Westwood, Jamie Reid and Debbie and Tracy from the Bromley Contingent resisted the police-pressure and were arrested. By the end of the Jubilee week, God save the Queen had sold 200’000 copies and reached number one in the charts. This was the bands peak. They released the next single Pretty Vacant and the group made a Scandinavia-tour.

Sex Pistols Plakat Nov.1977
After a short tour through Dutch they got back to London because they had to go on a US-tour to promote their album. The Sex Pistols arrived in New York on 3rd January 1978. Before the groups’ departure, Sid Vicious had built up a considerable dependency on heroin. He was uncontrollable and had to be watched twenty-four hours a day. There were many hassles within the group and with McLaren, the band-members weren’t speaking to each other. Jones and Cook were hanging out together, Lydon would have nothing to do with McLaren and Sid was on cold turkey. They made a great first concert in San Antonio but with every next gig things were reaching the breaking point. They travelled seperately, Jones with Cook and McLaren by airplane and Lydon with Vicious by car.

On 14th January 1978 they gave the last concert at the Winterland in San Francisco. The sound was terrible, everyone was completely miserable and after some songs Lydon suddenly stoped: ‘Oh bollocks, why should I carry on?’ Cook and Jones continue the riff … for the remaining minutes, Lydon didn’t speak to the audience but to himself: ‘There’s no fun in being alone / this is no fun / it is no fun at all’. He seated on the stage and looked emptily at the crowd: there was no performance, there was no audience and there was no Sex Pistols! Then at least he said: ‘Ever get the feeling you’ve been cheated’!

After this show the Sex Pistols went their separate ways. Cook, Jones and McLaren drove off to Los Angeles before going to Rio. On the 18th January John Lydon arrived in New York and announced the groups break-up. At the 2th February Sid Vicious died on a overdose of heroin in New York. With the end of the undoubted figureheads, the (first) chapter of Punk was also finished. But this great two years were long enough to generate a new youth-culture – with their own music, fashion, magazines and record-labels!

By 3rd May 1979 the conservative-party won the election and Mrs Thatcher moved to Downing Street Number 10! This ‘victory’ did mark an end to the period of social unrest which Punk had charted so intimately. Humpty Dumpty had fallen off the wall and there was no way of piecing him together. Punk was at the end, but it intiated also some good things.

The innovative elements of Punk were:

  • ‘you can do it too’ – create your own band, fanzine, record-label, live-club, etc.
  • at the first time women in a subcultural movement had same rights and appropriate place on the stage.
  • it opened the door to the music-business for a lot of new (wave) bands – not only in the UK
  • Punk / NewWave as predescessor of
    Electro: Gary Numan, Human League, Depeche Mode, Cabaret Voltaire, … and via EBM Techno,
    DarkWave: Joy Divison, Siouxsie & the Banshees, … and via New Romantics / Batcave-Club Gothic(ks)
  • Vivienne Westwood: the start of a great fashion-designer

and not at least

Records as f.e.

various Roxy London WC2
Sex Pistols never mind the bollocks bestellen bei amazon.com
Siouxsie & the Banshees the scream bestellen bei amazon.com
the Clash 1.album bestellen bei amazon.com
the Adverts crossing the red sea bestellen bei amazon.com
X Ray Spex germ free adolescents bestellen bei amazon.com
Kleenex Hedi’s head / nice
Buzzcocks singles going steady bestellen bei amazon.com
Magazine real life bestellen bei amazon.com
Joy Division unknown pleasure bestellen bei amazon.com
Wire chairs missing bestellen bei amazon.com
the Cure boys don’t cry bestellen bei amazon.com

Gedichte von John Cooper Clarke

Film ‘Jubilee’ von Derek Jarman mit Jordan und anderen frühen Punks

John Lydon: You never listen to a word that I said
You only see me
For the clothes that I wear
Or did the interest go so much deeper
It must have been
The colour of my hair
What you wanted was never made clear
Behind the image was ignorance and fear
You hide behind his public machine
Still follow same old schemeTwo sides to every story
Somebody had to stop me
I’m not the same as when I began
I will not be treated as propertyPublic Image you got what you wanted
Public Image belongs to me
It’s my entrance
My own creation
My grand finale
My goodbye
Public Image, October 1978

> A short history about Swiss Punk & Wave

Der folgende Text ist eine Kurz-Geschichte des Punk. Der Inhalt basiert auf meinen persönlichen Erlebnissen sowie Publikationen aus/über dieser Zeit, wie Fanzines und Bücher.

Malcolm McLaren und Vivienne Westwood im 'Let it Rock' Dez.1971Kings Road, London, Oktober 1971 : Malcolm Robert Andrew Edwards (aka Malcolm McLaren) und Vivienne Westwood ziehen in die Hinterräume vom Laden in Hausnummer 430.

McLaren und Westwood waren stark beeindruckt vom Stil der Teds. Es war Vivienne Westwood welche herausfand, dass Teds alle ihre Kleider selber machen mussten und hier eine Marktlücke war.

Sie übernahmen den Laden, nannten ihn Let it rock und begannen diese Lücke zu füllen!

McLaren war in den Sechziger Jahren Student an der Croydon Art School. Er sagte: ‚Ich lernte alles über Politik und die Zusammenhänge der Welt durch die Kunst-Geschichte‘. McLaren probierte Ideen aus: ‚Plagiarismus ist das Wort dafür. Wenn du nicht anfängst Dinge zu sehen und zu stehlen, weil diese dich inspirieren, so bist du ein Dummkopf‘. In Croydon lernt er Jamie Reid kennen, ebenfalls Kunst-Student, welcher einige Jahre später Covers und Posters für die Sex Pistols Platten kreierte.

Die Unruhen in Paris während des Mai 68 fanden auch Beachtung in London. Deren kryptischen Phrasen waren das perfekte Medium für diese Revolte. Die Magazine der Situationistischen Internationale (SI) sammelten in einer speziellen Technik – ähnlich Jahre zuvor die Dadaisten – die Graffiti und Poster des Studenten-Protests. SI Material war auch erhältlich in Londons Buchläden, wo McLaren einige fand und kaufte. Er hatte auch Kontakt zu einer Londoner-Gruppe von Situationisten mit dem Namen King Mob. Durch den SI-Einfluss entwickelten er und Jamie Reid ihren Sinn für eine neue Medien-Praxis.

In knapp zwei Jahren – mit einer Ausstellung ihrer Kleider-Entwürfe in New York und Kontakt mit der lokalen Music-Szene – lernten McLaren und Westwood einiges über die Funktionsweise von Subkulturen. Sie sahen die gegenseitige Beeinflussung mit der Medien-, Musik- und Mode-Industrie. Beide fühlten, dass es Zeit war diese Erfahrungen mit den eigenen Ideen zu verknüpfen. Sie begannen Freunde mit spezifischen Fähigkeiten um sich zu scharen. Vivienne wollte die T-Shirts mit komplizierteren Ideen, wie Mischen von sexuellen Tabus mit situationistischen Slogans, erweitern. Bernard Rhodes (später Manager der Clash) war ein idealer Kollege mit seiner praktischer Erfahrung im Drucken sowie Interesse für Minimalismus und Dadaismus.

Ende 1974 reiste McLaren wieder nach New York. Er versuchte den New York Dolls ein neues Image mit Kleidern von Vivienne Westwood zu geben. Ein Mix von Mode, Sex, kommunistischen Zeichen und Slogans. Doch das Ganze war zu politisch für die NY-Szene. Die Dolls lösten sich auf und eine neue Generation von Bands okupierten die Clubs: Richard Hell und seine Gruppe Television, die Ramones und Patti Smith welche McLaren als urbane Poeten ansah.

Jordan vor dem Laden 'SEX'Während McLaren in New York war hatte Vivienne Westwood die neue Identität des Ladens zu etablieren. Sie nannte ihre Entwürfe Kleider für Helden und verknüpfte deren Tragen mit dem Ausdruck einer bestimmten Einstellung. Sie änderten den Namen des Lokals zu SEX (geändert 1976 zu SEDITIONARIES und 1981 zu WORLDS END).

Aber McLaren und Westwood wussten dass es nicht genügte einen Namen und Ideen zu haben: Diese mussten in eine physische Form gebracht werden. Mit dem Eintritt von Jordan gewannen sie eine Frau, welche eine lebende Werbung für den Laden war. Sie war die erste Sex Pistol!

McLaren kehrte im Mai 1975 nach London zurück und war beeindruckt von Jordan und die Art und Weise, wie einige Teenager die SEX-Kleider in ihre Ausstaffierung einbezogen. Einer dieser regelmässigen Besucher war Steve Jones, ein Gitarrist in einer Band mit dem Namen ‚The Strand‘ (nach dem Roxy Music Song). Die andern Mitglieder waren Paul Cook und für eine befristete Zeit Warwick Nightingale. Sie suchten einen Manager und McLaren suchte eine Band um seine – NY inspirierten – Visionen umsetzen zu können. Als McLaren eines Tages kam, um sich das Ganze anzuhören, war er mit einer Gruppe konfrontiert, welche weder einen permanenten Bassisten noch eine Bühnen-Präsenz hatte. Als Erstes galt es einen Bass-Spieler zu finden. McLaren fand ihn in Glenn Matlock, ein Student welcher am Samstag jeweils im Laden aushalf.

Dann suchte McLaren nach einem speziellen Front-Mann, welcher seine ultimative Garagen Band formen sollte. John Lydon kam öfters in den Laden. Er wurde zuerst durch Bernard Rhodes (dem späteren Clash Manager) entdeckt, welcher beeindruckt war, durch die grünen Haare und das zerrissene, mit Sicherheits-Nadeln zusammengehaltene, Pink Floyd T-Shirt mit dem Slogan I hate darüber! Reagierend auf Rhodes‘ Enthusiasmus fragte McLaren ihn ob er singen könne und Lydon antwortete: ‚Nein nur falsch und ich spiele sowieso die Violine ‚ … somit waren die Sex Pistols komplett.

Wieviele Brücken haben wir zu überqueren, bevor wir den Boss treffen1975 war England in einer starken Rezession, die Zahl der Arbeitslosen war die Höchste seit seit dem 2.Weltkrieg. Schulabgänger waren die am stärksten Betroffenen. Die öffentlichen Ausgaben hatten 45 Prozent des nationalen Einkommens erreicht. Zu dieser Zeit war der Staat – durch Verstaatlichung und einer riesigen Bürokratie – auf dem besten Weg zu Orwell’s 1984! Im Februar 75 wurde Frau Thatcher Vorsitzende der Konservativen Partei und begann ihre Ideologie basierend auf dem Primat des Individualismus (oder besser Egoismus) zu propagieren. Slogans wie JEDEN TAG DASSELBE – U-BAHN – ARBEIT – ESSEN – ARBEIT – U-BAHN – LEHNSTUHL – U-BAHN – ARBEIT – WIEVIEL ERTRÄGST DU DAVON – EINER VON FÜNF GEHT KAPUTT wurden an Wände gemalt.

Das Music-Geschäft wurde dominiert von teurem (über)produzierten Pop und ‚progressive‘ Rock. Die Hoffnungen der frühen 70er, David Bowie und Roxy Music, änderten ihr Image mit jeder neuen Veröffentlichung in einen kommerzielleren Stil. Doch sie machten die ersten postmodernen Platten und versuchten eine neue Pop-Generation zu kreieren. Stil nicht nur Musik war wichtig. Es war die Sensibilität und Kombination von Mode, Kunst und Musik, basierend auf Werken von Andy Warhol und Velvet Underground, George Orwell sowie Stanley Kubricks A Clockwork Orange.

1975 hatten neue Gruppen keine Chance ihre Platten zu produzieren und vertreiben, bis McLaren begann die Sex Pistols zu managen. Er organisierte die ersten Konzerte und für einige Monate tourten sie quer durchs Land. Sie hatten nicht viele Besucher, aber vom ersten Auftritt an polarisierten sie die wenigen Leute und nach jedem Konzert folgten ihnen ein oder zwei Personen. Einige von ihnen gründeten später ihre eigene Band wie Chrissie Hynde (Pretenders), Viv Albertine (the Slits), Joe Strummer and Mick Jones (the Clash), Howard Trafford (aka Devoto: Buzzcocks, Magazine), Peter McNeish (aka Shelley: Buzzcocks), Peter Hook and Bernard Sumner (Joy Division, New Order), Morrissey, Tony James (Chelsea, GenerationX), Adam Ant, Bruce Gilbert (Wire), und weitere.

Im Juli 1976 nahmen die Sex Pistols sieben Songs bei Dave Goodman auf einer 4-Spur Maschine auf. Es waren Anarchy in the UK, Pretty Vacant, Seventeen, Satellite, Problems, I wanna be me und Submission. Mit diesen Bändern unternahm McLaren einen ersten Angriff auf die Musik Industrie. Doch die primäre Absicht dieser Firmen ist Geld zu verdienen und zu diesem Zeitpunkt sahen sie keine Chance dies mit Pistols-Platten zu tun. McLaren beschloss eine weitere Veranstaltung in Islington’s ‚Screen on the green‘ durchzuführen. Ende August brachte ein ‚Midnight Special‘ die Buzzcocks, die Clash und die Sex Pistols im ersten grossen Punk-Test in der Hauptstadt zusammen. Auf die drei Gruppen warteten nicht nur Fans sondern auch Journalisten, Photographen und Leute der Musik-Industrie. Die Sex Pistols, speziell John Lydon, machten einen total andersartigen Auftritt als die andern zwei Bands und wurden dadurch von den Medien am Meisten beachtet.

Sue Catwoman vom Bromley ContingentZu dieser Zeit brachte ein Konzert die Pistols mit einer Gruppe von Jugendlichen zusammen, welche ihre eigene subkulturelle Umgebung für die Band kreierten: das Bromley Contingent!

Caroline Coon schrieb im Melody Maker über die Punky Bands und Mark Perry publizierte das erste Fanzine mit dem Namen Sniffin‘ Glue (von einem Ramones Song) und dem Slogan FOR PUNKS. Die Idee hinter dem Fanzine war jedoch bedeutender als der Inhalt: Jede Person mit einem Verständnis der Sprache und etwas Geld (für Photokopien) konnte seine eigene Meinung publizieren.

Dann organisierte McLaren und sein Team von Glitterbest das Punk Festival im ‚100 Club‘ in London. Da war noch Platz für eine Gruppe und in einer Diskussion zwischen McLaren und einigen vom Bromley Contingent antwortete Siouxsie: ‚Wir haben eine Band‘!

Plakat für das Punk-Rock Festival im '100 Club' von Jamie ReidSiouxsie & the Banshees mit Sid Vicious Drums, Marco Pirroni Gitarre, Steve Severin Bass und Siouxsie Sioux Vocals. So gaben Sie ihr erstes Konzert am 20.September mit den Sex Pistols, den Clash und Subway Sect; am 21. the Damned, die Vibrators mit Chris Spedding, Buzzcocks und Stinky Toys aus Frankreich.
So kurz vor der Veranstaltung Songs zu schreiben war unmöglich, aber das Vater Unser mit improvisierten Tönen zu verbinden nicht. Dazu einige Zeilen von Songs wie Twist and Shout und Knocking on Heavens Door und der Auftritt war komplett. Die Banshees haben die Idee ‚jeder kann es tun‘ umgesetzt, oder wie Sid Vicious sagte ’nimm einfach einen Akkord, spiele ihn und du hast Musik‘!

Die Pistols machten einer ihrer besten Auftritte und für jeden Anwesenden war klar, dass genügend Kraft für eine Explosion da war. Kleinere Ausbrüche dieser Energie gabs fast an jedem Konzert, Bier-Gläser auf die Bühne werfen, spucken und krakeelen im Publikum aber auch mit der Band. Mit dem Resultat, dass die Pistols aus vielen Clubs verbannt wurden.

Nach dem Punk-Festival bekamen die Sex Pistols einen Vertrag mit EMI. Zwei Tage später wollte die Band ins Studio um ihre erste Single Anarchy in the UK aufzunehmen und am 27.November veröffentlichen. Dann am Abend des 1.Dezember hatten die Sex Pistols die Möglichkeit eines Interviews in der lokalen London TV Show Thames Today mit Bill Grundy. Die Pistols brachten noch Vier vom Bromley Contingent (Siouxsie, Simone, Steve und Simon) mit. Ein angedrunkener Grundy provozierte die Acht und bekam entsprechende Antworten mit Schimpfwörtern und Grimassen (Transkript des Dialogs in englisch). Zu viel für eine ’seriöse‘ TV Show und stupide Glotzer und genug um am nächsten Tag in allen Presse-Schlagzeilen zu sein. Vor der Sendung war Punk nur ’schlechte‘ Musik, nachher das Medien-Thema.
Mit entsprechenden Reaktionen für die Sex Pistols: 13 von 19 Tour- Daten wurden abgesagt, die meisten kommerziellen Radio-Stationen spielten keine Pistols-Platten mehr, grosse Platten-Läden stoppten den Verkauf der Single und EMI stieg aus dem Vertrag mit den Pistols aus.

Singles, Batches, Fanzines

Doch Punk war zu diesem Zeitpunkt nicht mehr zu stoppen. Eine Menge neuer Punk-Bands entstand und spielten in verschiedenen Clubs jeder grösseren Stadt. Neue Fanzines und, als eine der grössten Punk-Innovationen, neue Record-Labels und Vertriebe (z.B. Rough Trade) entstanden. Diese kleinen und unabhängigen Unternehmen vernetzt mit Platten-Läden, Live-Clubs und Fanzine Schreibern in England – und etwas später im übrigen Europa und den USA – gaben den Bands die notwendige Infrastruktur um ihre eigenen Platten zu publizieren und promoten!

Aber auch jede Major-Firma nahm eine Punk-Band unter Vertrag, so CBS die Clash und Island die Damned. Beide Gruppen nahmen ihre ersten Alben auf und veröffentlichten sie in den folgenden Monaten. Nach drei Monaten ohne Vertrag unterzeichneten die Pistols mit A&M Records vor dem Buckingham Palace. Nun mit Sid Vicious – einem alten Freund von John – am Bass, welcher den geschassten Glen Matlock ersetzte.

Die erste Single für A&M war ebenfalls klar: Es sollte der Song sein den John für das Silver Jubilee der Queen geschrieben hatte: God save the Queen. Das Record-Cover, die Plakate, Handzettel, Anzeigen und Stickers waren von Jamie Reid entworfen. Nachdem 25’000 Single-Kopien gepresst waren, geriet die Firma über die Konsequenzen dieser Veröffentlichung in Panik und beendete nach achteinhalb Wochen den Vertrag.

Am 10.April nach einem eintrittsfreien Pistols Konzert im Roxy Club zusammen mit den Slits interessierte sich Virgin für die Pistols und sie unterzeichneten einen Platten-Vertrag. Die Werbekampagne für God save the Queen konnte weitergehen und zwei Wochen vor der offiziellen Feier wurde die Single veröffentlicht. Am 27.Mai 1977 kam die Platte in den Verkauf und innerhalb fünf Tagen wurden 150’000 Singles verkauft, genug für Platz 11 in den Charts. Die Welt nahm Notiz! God save the Queen schockierte, nicht nur weil gesagt wurde die Gegenwart sei eine Lüge, sondern auch weil eine negative Zukunft prophezeit wurde: No future for you and me!

Am Wochenende des Jubilee hatten die Pistols keine Möglichkeit in einem Club zu spielen. So entschied McLaren eine Propaganda Veranstaltung auf der Themse durchzuführen. Er mietete für den Sonntag ein Schiff mit dem Namen Queen Elizabeth und die Band mit ihrem Anhang stürmte das Schiff und begann auf dem Deck zu spielen. Während des zweiten Songs begannen zwei Polizei-Boote das Pistols-Schiff zu umkreisen und zwangen sie an einem Steg anzulegen wo ein Polizei-Aufgebot sie erwartete. Als das Schiff anlegte entstand ein Chaos. Die Polizei wurde gegenüber einzelnen Personen handgreiflich und es entwickelte sich eine Rauferei. Elf Personen u.a. Vivienne Westwood, Jamie Reid sowie Debbie und Tracy vom Bromley Contingent wurden verhaftet. Am Ende der Jubilee-Woche waren 200’000 Singles verkauft und Platz 1 der Charts erreicht. Dies war zugleich der Höhepunkt der Band. Sie veröffentlichten als nächstes die Single Pretty Vacant und machten eine Skandinavien-Tournee.

Sex Pistols Plakat Nov.1977

Nach einer kurzen Tour durch Holland gingen sie zurück nach London, denn sie hatten eine Promotion-Tour in den USA zu absolvieren. Die Sex Pistols kamen in New York am 3.Januar 1978 an. Vor der Abreise der Gruppe war Sid Vicious bereits Heroin abhängig. Er war unberechenbar und musste rund um die Uhr beaufsichtigt werden. Es waren einige Streitereien innerhalb der Gruppe und mit McLaren, die Band sprach nicht mehr miteinander. Jones und Cook hingen zusammen rum, Lydon wollte nichts mit McLaren zu tun haben und Sid hatte Probleme durch den Entzug. Sie machten ein grossartiges Start-Konzert doch mit jedem weiteren Auftritt fiel das Ganze mehr auseinander. Sie reisten separat, Jones mit Cook und McLaren per Flugzeug und Lydon mit Vicious im Auto.

Am 14.Januar 1978 gaben sie ihr letztes Konzert im Winterland, San Francisco. Der Sound und die Stimmung waren schlecht und nach einigen Songs stoppte plötzlich Lydon: ‚Oh Scheisse, wieso soll ich weitermachen‘? Cook und Jones spielten weiter … für die nächsten Minuten, sprach Lydon nicht mehr zum Publikum sondern nur noch zu sich selbst: ‚Es macht keinen Spass allein zu sein / das ist kein Spass / es ist überhaupt kein Spass‘. Er sass auf der Bühne und starrte leer in’s Publikum: da war keine Vorstellung, kein Publikum und keine Band! Dann zuletzt sagte er: ‚Schon mal das Gefühl gehabt, dass man Euch beschissen hat‘!

Nach diesem Auftritt gingen die Pistols separate Wege. Cook, Jones und McLaren gingen nach Los Angeles bevor sie nach Rio flogen. Am 18.Januar kam John Lydon in New York an und verkündete das Ende der Gruppe. Am 2.Februar starb Sid Vicious an einer Ueberdosis Heroin in New York. Mit dem Ende der unbestrittenen Gallionsfiguren war das (erste) Kapitel des Punk beendet. Doch diese zwei grossartigen Jahre waren lang genug um eine neue Jugend-Kultur zu generieren – mit einer eigenen Musik, Mode, Zeitschriften und Platten-Labels!

Am 3.Mai 79 gewann die Konservative Partei die Wahlen und Frau Thatcher zog in der Downing Street Number 10 ein! Dieser ‚Sieg‘ markierte zugleich das Ende einer sozialen Unrast wovon Punk ein wesentlicher Bestandteil war. Humpty Dumpty war von der Mauer gefallen und es gab keine Chance ihn wieder zusammenzusetzen. Punk war am Ende, hatte aber auch einige gute Dinge initiiert.

Die innovativen Elemente von Punk waren:

  • ‚Du kannst es auch‘ – kreiere Deine eigene Band, Fanzine, Record-Label, Live-Club, etc.
  • zum ersten Mal hatten Frauen in einer subkulturellen Bewegung gleiche Rechte und entsprechenden Platz auf der Bühne.
  • öffnete Punk die Türen der Musik-Industrie für eine Menge neuer (Wave) Bands – nicht nur in England
  • Punk resp. NewWave als Vorgänger von
    Electro: Gary Numan, Human League, Depeche Mode, Cabaret Voltaire, … und via EBM Techno,
    DarkWave: Joy Divison, Siouxsie & the Banshees, … und via New Romantics / Batcave-Club Gothic(ks)
  • Vivienne Westwood: der Start einer grossartigen Mode-Designerin

und nicht zuletzt

Platten wie z.B.

various Roxy London WC2
Sex Pistols never mind the bollocks bestellen bei amazon.com
Siouxsie & the Banshees the scream bestellen bei amazon.com
the Clash 1.album bestellen bei amazon.com
the Adverts crossing the red sea bestellen bei amazon.com
X Ray Spex germ free adolescents bestellen bei amazon.com
Kleenex Hedi’s head / nice
Buzzcocks singles going steady bestellen bei amazon.com
Magazine real life bestellen bei amazon.com
Joy Division unknown pleasure bestellen bei amazon.com
Wire chairs missing bestellen bei amazon.com
the Cure boys don’t cry bestellen bei amazon.com

Gedichte von John Cooper Clarke

Film ‚Jubilee‘ von Derek Jarman mit Jordan und anderen frühen Punks

John Lydon: You never listen to a word that I said
You only see me
For the clothes that I wear
Or did the interest go so much deeper
It must have been
The colour of my hair
What you wanted was never made clear
Behind the image was ignorance and fear
You hide behind his public machine
Still follow same old schemeTwo sides to every story
Somebody had to stop me
I’m not the same as when I began
I will not be treated as propertyPublic Image you got what you wanted
Public Image belongs to me
It’s my entrance
My own creation
My grand finale
My goodbye
Public Image, October 1978

> Eine kurze Darstellung von Swiss Punk & Wave