Jamie Reid

Born in 1947 as the son of John McGregor-Reid, City editor of the ‘Daily Sketch’. Jamie Reid had been brought up in Shirley, the thirties ‘dream suburb’ east of Croydon. It is a neat environment, which at the time it was built accorded with the spatial fantasy of that time: sub-urbanism. ‘In principle it’s a very good system,’ Reid says, ‘why shouldn’t everybody have their own garden? But I’ve always had a love/hate relationship with suburbia: I hate what it’s become.’

Jamie ReidJamie had gone straight to Wimbledon Art School from John Ruskin Grammar School, where he was an unwilling student. It had been a toss-up between art and football, but painting won: Reid was obsessed by Jackson Pollock, whose canvases he saw as landscapes. At Wimbledon, the teaching methods were very traditional and Reid rebelled: ‘I was a typically obnoxious young art student.’ He was ready for Croydon Art School which offered more freedom: full of the romanticism of painting, he started there in autumn 1964.

The near-revolution that occured in Paris and the rest of France during May 1968 had an immediate impact on youth throughout the world: partly because it was the first televised urban insurrection, partly because it marked a generation claiming its political rights.

The most identifiable signs in Paris of 1968 were posters and graffiti inspired by the Situationist International. Their cryptic phrases were the perfect medium for this revolt. Slogans like DEMAND THE IMPOSSIBLE or IMAGINATION IS SEIZING POWER inverted conventional logic: they made complex ideas suddenly seem very simple. For the bored students in Croydon, the revolt at the Sorbonne in Paris acted as a starting pistol. Some students, beneath them Malcolm McLaren and Jamie Reid, were involved in a sit-in that developed in Croydon. On 5 June, the art students barricaded themselves in the annexe at South Norwood and issued a series of impossible demands.

‘The idea was in the air,’ says Jamie Reid; ‘at the time it was imperative just to contribute to what was going on and take your own action. There was a genuine contact between the Sorbonne, Croydon and Hornsey.’ The action was above all a media event. But for Jamie Reid and his associates like Fred Vermorel and Malcolm McLaren, it was an eye-opener: ‘I went from a student worrying about his little niche into being someone who was very aware of what was happening in other parts of the world – what was taking place in Paris, the riots in Watts. I really felt that I had control over my own life and over my environment.’ They learned a language to articulate their angers and their ideals.

King Mob Echo #5One early english response to the SI was a magazine called Heatwave. Some of the writers including co-editor Christopher Gray formed a year later in 1968 their own group King Mob and declared themselves and their politics through their tabloid magazine King Mob Echo. The group took their name from Christopher Hibbert’s book (1958) on the Gordon Riots of June 1780, the anarchic week that was akin to the French Revolution a few years later. In applauding this hidden moment in British history, the group were attempting to reemphasize a disordered, anarchic Britain that had previously been swept under the carpet. It was an attempt to give a specifically British context to the growing discontent. Some Croydon art-students, by the names of Malcom McLaren, Jamie Reid and Fred Vermorel, were also involved in a few activities.

In the first quarter of 1970, Jamie Reid worked with Malcolm McLaren on the history of ‘Oxford Street’ ‘as a set of attractions; respectability is invented for people to better themselves as they pay highly for it’. Their version traced the history of Oxford Street from Tyburn at Marble Arch on the western end: the hangings on Monday, execution day, were ‘London’s largest free spectacle’. The street was slowly taken over by the middle class: in 1760, the Pantheon opened, a fashionable amusement palace where one lady dressed ‘one half of herself smart and other half in rags’. Their account of the Gordon Riots begins: ‘the middle class started it against the Catholics. Then hundreds of shopkeepers, carpenters, servants, soldiers and sailors rushed into the streets. There were only a few Catholic houses to smash. So they started to smash all the rich houses. The middle classes did not want anything to do with this.’ The rioters then ‘burned down all five London prisons. They wanted to knock down everything that stopped them having fun and made them unhappy. They wanted to set all the mad people free and free the lions from the Tower.’ The film was still not finished.

Jamie Reid co-founded in 1970 the Suburban Press, what was in Jamie’s words ‘very Anarchist, Situationist based’. They produced their own posters and magazines and printed leaflets for squatting movements, prisoner’s rights, the black movement and feminist women’s groups. Jamie Reid familiarized himself with libertarian thinkers like Charles Fourier and published toughts of british anarchists like William Morris and Digger Gerrard Winstanley.

Leaving the 20th CenturyAs the Suburban Press had to produce ‘really fast, quick, powerful, agitprop-type’ on a tiny budget, it was necessary to improvise. They cut out letters from newspapers and photographs and ‘used the whole sort of ripped and torn punk-image.’ In 1974, Jamie Reid designed and printed the first english-language anthology of the Situationists, Christopher Gray’s translation of SI texts Leaving the 20th Century.

Then in 1976 Malcolm McLaren, now the manager of a band called the Sex Pistols, send a telegram to Jamie Reid: ‘Got these guys, interested in working with you again.’ Reid’s stint as the Sex Pistols art director would result in the most provocative designs of the rock-music. Jamie Reid says: ‘It wasn’t the phenomen that interested me. I saw punk as a part of an art movement that’s gone over the last hundred years, with roots in Russian agitprop, surrealism, dada and situationism.’ ‘We used to talk to John (Rotten/Lydon) a lot, about the Situationists, about Suburban Press. The Sex Pistols seemed the perfect vehicle to communicate ideas directly to people who weren’t getting the message from left wing politics.’

Whatever their precise provenance, the ringing phrases of the first Pistols Single Anarchy in the UK were powerful enough to insert the idea of anarchy into a new youth culture called Punk.

Jamie Reid's 'Anarchy Flagge'On October 1976 Glitterbest and EMI signed a two-year contract for the Sex Pistols. Anarchy in the UK should be the first Sex Pistols single. The idea behind it was strong: The song was nothing less than a manifesto for the group’s entry into public life. The presentation of the single had to be handled carefully. Group photos were rejected as clichéd by Glitterbest under their contractual veto: instead of it, they decided to use record-sleeves and posters to articulate the ideas behind the Sex Pistols. Reid and McLaren came up with an idea devasting in its simplicity – a plain, shiny black bag. ‘The idea, to have no identity, was very anarchic,’ says McLaren. For the poster, Reid tore up a Union Jack souvenir flag and reassembled it with safety-pins.

His posters and record sleeves, he says, were designed ‘to articulate ideas, many of which were anti-establishment and quite theoretical and complicated.’ Reid often appropriated and subverted familiar images; posters for the Pistols’ single God Save the Queen, depict the queen of England with a safety pin through her lips.

For the next Pistols-single, the first on A&M, the record-company worked up cover roughs which showed the group in front of Buckingham Palace. Glitterbest, however, planned a brilliant campaign that drew on all aspects of Jamie Reid’s experience and knowledge about the situationism. The single was to be released without a picture cover, but a whole series of images had been worked out for accompanying media: handbills, posters, adverts and stickers which were already being handed out. It was Reid’s first integrated campaign.

I must have done literally hundreds of different images around that official Cecil Beaton portrait. I did two days of sessions with photographer Carol Moss until I came up with the safety-pin through her mouth. There was no point in beating about the bush; you use the same tactics that you know are going to get thrown back in your face from the likes of the Mirror and the Sun. The safety-pin image wasn’t banned at A&M, although the one where she has swastikas over her eyes was.’

Unused artwork for 'Pretty Vacant', July 1977During the Berlin trip in 1977 the Sex Pistols had written a new song, Holidays in the Sun, but it wasn’t ready. So McLaren and Reid decided to go with Pretty Vacant: It was catchy, already very popular with the fans and lyrically uncontroversial. It was one of the Sex Pistols’ earliest songs and the most obviously anthemic, with its simple but dramatic repeated-chord opening and its inclusive chorus line.

Despite the haste with which it was planned, Pretty Vacant was a charged, complicated package, from the Situ-picture sleeve through to the burned out version of No Fun on the B-side.

Shortly afterwards, the title and the cover concept for the following Sex Pistols album had been decided. Initial versions had been called God save the Sex Pistols, and Jamie Reid had worked up some proofs in vivid yellow and dark red. There were to be again no picture of the group, just cut-out lettering with a coarse resolution reminiscent of screen-prints. During the summer the album became the name Never Mind the Bollocks, a phrase supplied by Steve Jones.

Cover für 'Holidays in the Sun'To keep up the attention, Holidays in the Sun was pulled out of the hat as a fourth single. McLaren and Reid worked up another campaign with a video (never shot) that would be a ‘re-creation of the TV ads used by the Sun and the News of the World to advertise holiday features’. This was the heyday of the Sex Pistols’ graphic image. Under pressure, Reid went public his Situationist connections. The front cover of the sleeve was a modified belgian holiday brochure, which had cartoon illustrations of a typical family on a typical holiday. Reid inserted the song lyrics into the cartoon bubbles in the same way as the Situationists had done it with detectives comics.

For the reverse, he pulled out an illustration from Suburban Press, called the Nice Drawing, and simply added the Satellite lettering from the 100 Club poster of the previous year. For the music press ads and large posters, Reid took a graphic he had contributed to Chris Gray’s 1974 translation of Situ texts, adding speech bubbles and an old Suburban Press sticker: Keep warm this winter, make trouble.

Original LP-Cover, 1977On 28th October 1977, the Sex Pistols album Never Mind the Bollocks – Here’s the Sex Pistols was rush-released, two weeks before the worldwide release was scheduled. Glitterbest had already shipped tapes to the french licensing partner Barclay and, as a further delaying device, insisted that Virgin add Submission to the eleven tracks already pressed. In the last week of October, Virgin learned of Barclays’ plan to export copies into England ahead of the release date, and Virgin rush-released the album.
With Bodies, the title and the already banned God Save the Queen, the album was banned by Boots, Woolworths and W.H.Smith. The advance orders of more than 150’000 were enough to bring it straight into the charts as the unequivocal number one. It was a near repeat of God Save the Queen, but unlike in June, this time it was a full stop, then the group would never record together again.Then in 1979, the release of the film The Great Rock’n’Roll Swindle and the soundtrack as a double-album. The film’s opening images of ragged Punks in the Gordon Riots reemphasized the covert but powerful english tradition of disorder, already highlighted by God Save the Queen with results that still reverberate. ‘In the end,’ says Jamie Reid, ‘it was our fault that we didn’t articulate our ideas well enough.’ Despite McLaren’s and Reid’s libertarian intent, The Great Rock’n’Roll Swindle became swamped, as their wish to destroy what they had created fused with the cynicism of the time.Jamie Reid’s work demonstrated the power of graphic design in the music industry and opened the door to a strong new generation of British designers, whose purpose was different from Jamie’s. They used the creative freedom of the music industry as a showcase for vibrant design, unaffected by corporate compromise. Their influence has spread beyond music to fashion, the media and consumer packaging.In the following years Jamie Reid worked for political movements – the anti-Poll Tax and anti-Criminal Justice Act campaigns are just two of those who have benefited from his unique style of visual anarchy – and punk bands such as the Dead Kennedys. In 1989 Reid designed the poster for the ICA’s (London’s Institute of Contemporary Art) touring retrospective of the Situationist International, which appropriates the front cover of Reid’s and Grey’s Leaving the 20th Century and dates the SI from 1957 to 1972!

Peace is Tough a touring exhibition of Reid’s work, started in 1989 when a gallery in Tokyo asked him to do a retrospective. It was only the second exhibition that he had ever done and he decided to keep it on the road. It was ten years later the exhibition is still to see in arts centres. Reid says punk is still relevant today and the DIY idea has never really gone away. People still have to get out and do things for themselves, particularly ‘people who haven’t the privilege of money or access to the education system’. Reid himself left the school at the age of 16 – in today’s world he would probably not have had a chance of getting into art college.

late workToday Reid is involved with the Strongroom Recording Studios in London. This project was expanded to include a bar, restaurant and club in the same building as the studios. Reid strongly believes that the architecture of modern work-places works solely to ‘keep you submissive and under the thumb’. The vibrant colours and striking imagery in the Strongroom Studios are a direct revolt against this idea.
Jamie Reid is still working with music and musicians, and still ‘fascinated by the connections between sound and vision’.

Jamie Reid

Geboren 1947 als der Sohn von John McGregor-Reid, Stadt-Verantwortlicher von ‚Daily Sketch‘. Jamie Reid wuchs in Shirley auf, dem dreissiger Jahre ‚Traum-Vorort‘ östlich von Croydon. Es ist eine ordentliche Umgebung, welches zu der Zeit als es aufgebaut wurde mit der damaligen räumlichen Phantasie übereinstimmte: Vor-Städtisch. ‚Im Prinzip ist es ein sehr gutes System,‘ sagt Reid, ‚warum soll nicht jeder seinen eigenen Garten haben? Aber ich hatte immer eine Hass/Liebe Beziehung zur Vorstadt: Ich hasse, was daraus geworden ist.‘

Jamie ReidJamie ging direkt von der John Ruskin Grammar Schoolar zur Wimbledon Art School, in der er ein unwilliger Student war. Er hatte zu entscheiden zwischen Kunst und Fussball, aber die Malerei gewann: Reid besessen von Jackson Pollock, dessen Leinwände er als Landschaften sah. In Wimbledon waren die Unterrichts-Methoden sehr traditionell und Reid rebellierte: ‚Ich war ein typischer gewöhnlich abscheulicher junger Kunststudent.‘ Er war bereit für die Croydon Art School welche mehr Freiheit bot: voll von der Romantik der Malerei, begann er dort in Herbst 1964.

Die Beinahe-Revolution die in Paris auftauchte und den Rest von Frankreich während des Mai 1968 hatte eine unmittelbare Auswirkung auf die Jugend weltweit: teils weil es der erste vom Fernsehen übertragene städtische Aufstand war, teils weil es eine Generation markierte welche ihren politischen Rechte forderte.

Die meist-identifizierten Zeichen im Paris von 1968 waren Plakate und Graffities, inspiriert durch die Situationistische Internationale. Ihre verschlüsselten Phrasen waren das perfekte Medium für diese Revolte. Slogans wie VERLANGE DAS UNMÖGLICHE oder PHANTASIE BESTIMMT DIE MACHT umgekehrte herkömmliche Logik: sie liessen komplizierte Ideen plötzlich sehr einfach scheinen. Für die gelangweilten Student in Croydon, diente der Aufruhr an der Sorbonne in Paris als Start-Pistole. Einige Stundenten, unter ihnen Malcolm McLaren und Jamie Reid, wurden in ein Sit-In, welches sich in Croydon entwickelte, miteinbezogen. Am 5. Juni 5 verbarrikadierten sich die Studenten im Anbau von South Nordwood und stellten eine Reihe unmöglicher Forderungen.
‚Die Idee war in der Luft,‘ sagt Jamie Reid; ‚zu der Zeit war es zwingend an dem was vorging teilzunehmen und seine eigenen Massnahmen zu ergreifen. Es gab einen sehr guten Kontakt zwischen der Sorbonne, Croydon und Hornsey.‘ Die Aktion war vor allem ein Medienereignis. Aber für Jamie Reid und seine Kollegen wie Fred Vermorel und Malcolm McLaren, war es ein Augenöffner: ‚Ich wurde vom Studenten der sich um seine kleine Nische sorgte zu Jemandem der sich darum kümmerte was in anderen Teilen der Welt geschah – was in Paris stattfand, den Unruhen in Watts. Ich fühlte ernsthaft dass ich die Kontrolle über mein Leben und über meinem Umfeld hatte.‘ Sie erlernten eine Sprache zur Artikulation ihres Zorns und ihrer Ideale.

King Mob Echo #5Eine frühe englische Antwort zur SI war die Zeitschrift Heatwave. Einige der Verfasser einschliesslich des Co-Herausgebers Christopher Gray bildeten 1968 ihre eigene Gruppe King Mob und erklärten sich und ihre Politik durch ihre ‚Boulevard‘-Zeitschrift King Mob Echo. Die Gruppe entnahm ihren Namen von Christopher Hibbert’s Buch (1958) über die Gordon Unruhen vom Juni 1780 in London, einer anarchischen Woche die in Ansätzen der Französischen Revolution einige Jahre später entsprach. Durch den Applaus an diesen verborgenen Moment der britischen Geschichte, versuchte die Gruppe ein ungordnetes, anarchisches Grossbritannien wieder hervorzuheben welches früher unter dem Teppich gekehrt wurde. Es war ein Versuch, einen spezifisch britischen Kontext zur wachsenden Unzufriedenheit herzustellen. Einige Kunststudenten aus Croydon, mit Namen Malcom McLaren, Jamie Reid und Fred Vermorel, waren auch in einige der Aktiviäten involviert.

Im ersten Quartal 1970 arbeitete Jamie Reid mit Malcolm McLaren an der Geschichte der ‚Oxford Street‘ ‚als ein Set von Attraktionen; Ansehen wurde erfunden, damit Leute sich verbessern während sie in hohem Masse dafür bezahlen‘. Ihre Version vollzog die Geschichte der Oxfords Sreet von Tyburn bei Marble Arch am westlichen Ende: die Hänungen am Montag, Exekutionstag, waren ‚Londons grösstes unentgeltliches Spektakel‘. Die Strasse wurde langsam durch die Mittelklasse übernommen: 1760 öffnete das Pantheon, ein moderner Unterhaltungs-Palast, in moderner Unterhaltungspalast wo sich eine Dame ‚eine Hälfte elegant und die andere Hälfte in Fetzen‘ anzog. Ihr Bericht der Gordon Riots beginnt: ‚die Mittelklasse startete sie gegen die Katholischen. Dann stürmten Hunderte von Ladenbesitzer, Tischler, Bedienstete, Soldaten und Seeleute die Strassen. Es gab nur einige katholische Häuser zu zerstören. So begannen sie alle Häuser der Reichen zu zerstören, Die Mittelklasse wollte nichts mehr damit zu tun haben.‘ Die Unruhestifter ’stürmten dann alle fünf Londoner Gefängnisse. Sie wollten alles niederschlagen welches sie am Spass haben hinderte und sie unglücklich machte. Sie wollten alle verrückten Leute und die Löwen aus dem Tower befreien.‘ Der Film wurde nie fertiggestellt.

Jamie Reid war 1970 Mitgründer der Suburban Press, was in Jamie’s Worten ’sehr Anarchisten, Situationisten basierend‘ war. Sie produzierten ihre eigenen Plakate und Zeitschriften und druckten Handzettel für Häuserbesetzer, Rechte der Gefangenen, Bewegungen der Schwarzen und feministische Frauengruppen. Jamie Reid machte sich mit libertären Denkern wie Charles Fourier vertraut und publizierte Gedanken britischer Anarchisten wie William Morris und Digger Gerrard Winstanley.

Leaving the 20th Century Weil Suburban Press ’sehr schnell, leistungsfähig, agitprop-artig‘ mit einem kleinen Budget produzieren musste, war improvisieren notwendig. Sie schnitten Buchstaben aus Zeitungen und Photografien aus und ’nutzten die ganze Art des verrissenen und zerrissenen Punk-Images.‘ 1974 entwarf und druckte Jamie Reid die erste englischsprachige Anthologie der Situationisten, Christopher Gray’s Uebersetzung von SI-Texten Leaving the 20th Century.

Dann 1976 schickt Malcolm McLaren, jetzt Manager einer Bandes namens the Sex Pistols, Jamie Reid ein Telegramm: ‚Habe diese Burschen, interessiert wieder mit Dir zusammenzuarbeiten.‘ Reid’s Beitrag als Sex Pistols‘ Art-Director wird in den meist provozierendsten Designs der Rock-Musik resultieren. Jamie Reid sagt: ‚Es war nicht das Phänomen das mich interessierte. Ich sah Punk als Teil einer Kunstbewegung welche über die letzten hundert Jahre ging, mit Wurzeln im russischen Agitprop, im Surrealismus, in Dada and Situationismus.‘ ‚Wir pflegten mit John (Rotten/Lydon) viel zu sprechen, über die Situationisten, über Suburban Press. Die Sex Pistols schienen das perfekte Vehikel um Ideen direkt jenen Leuten zu vermitteln welche nicht die Mitteilungen linker Politik erhielten.‘

Was auch immer ihre exakte Herkunft war, die schallenden Phrasen der ersten Pistols Single Anarchy in the UKwar kraftvoll genug um die Idee von Anarchie in eine neue Jugendkultur, die Punk genannt wurde, einzupflanzen.

Jamie Reid's 'Anarchy Flagge'Im Oktober 1976 unterzeichneten Glitterbest und EMI einen zweijährigen Vertrag für die Sex Pistols. Anarchy in the UK sollte die erste Sex Pistols Single sein. Die Idee dahinter war stark: Der Song war nichts anderes als ein Manifest für den Eintritt der Gruppe in das öffentliche Leben. Die Präsentation der Single muste sorgfältig angegangen werden. Gruppen Fotos wurden als cliché-mässig von Glitterbest im Rahmen ihres Vertragsveto zurückgewiesen: an deren Stelle, entschieden sie sich Plattenumschlä,ge und Plakate zu benutzen um die Ideen hinter den Sex Pistols zu artikulieren. Reid und McLaren kamen schliesslich mit einer Idee, die in seiner Einfachheit verblüffte – ein normaler, glänzender schwarzer Beutel. ‚Die Idee, keine Identitüt zu haben, war sehr anarchisch,‘ sagt McLaren. Für das Plakat zerriss Reid eine Union Jack Souvenir-Flagge und setzte sie mit Sicherheitsnadeln neu zusammen.

Seine Plakate und Plattenhüllen wurden, sagt er, entworfen, ‚um Ideen zu artikulieren, von denen viele Anti-Establishment und ziemlich theoretisch und schwierig waren.‘ Reid nahm häufig passende Bilder und veräderte sie subversiv; Plakate für die Pistols‘ Single God Save the Queen, stellt die Queen mit einer Sicherheitsnadel durch ihre Lippen dar.

Für die folgende Pistols-Single, der Ersten bei A&M, erarbeitete die Plattenfirma Cover Entwürfe welche die Gruppe vor dem Buckingham Palace. Glitterbest jedoch plante eine brilliante Kampagne, welche alle Aspekte der Erfahrung und des Wissens von Jamie Reid über den Situationismus nutzte. Die Single sollte ohne Foto-Cover veröffentlicht werden, aber eine ganze Serie von Bilder war für die Medien-Begleitung ausgearbeitet worden: Handzettel, Plakate, Anzeigen und Aufkleber welche bereits verteilt waren. Es war Reid’s erste integrierte Kampagne.

Ich muss buchstäblich Hunderte von unterschiedlichen Bilder um dieses offizielle Portrait von Cecil Beaton gemacht haben. Ich machte zwei Tage Sessions mit dem Photografen Caroll Moss bis ich auf die Idee mit der Sicherheitsnadel durch ihren Mund kam. Es gab nichts mehr das dies schlagen konnte; Du hast die gleiche Taktik anzuwenden, welche Dir von Jemandem wie dem Mirror oder der Sun zurückgeworfen wird. Das Sicherheitnadel Bild wurde bei A&M nicht verboten, obgleich es das war wo sie Hakenkreuze auf ihren Augen hatte.‘

Unused artwork for 'Pretty Vacant', July 1977Während der Berlinreise 1977 hatten die Sex Pistols einen neuen Song, Holidays in the Sun, geschrieben, aber er war nicht fertig. So entschieden sich McLaren und Reid Pretty Vacant zu nehmen: Er war leicht ins Ohr gehend, bei den Fans bereits sehr populär und textlich nicht kontrovers. Es war einer der ersten Pistols‘ Songs und der offensichtlich meist hymnenmässige, mit seinem einfachen aber dramatisch beginnenden Wiederhol-Akkord und der mitinbegriffenen Chor-Linie.

Trotz der Eile mit der es geplant wurde, Pretty Vacant war ein berechnendes, komplexes Paket, von der Situ-Bild Umschlag bis zur ausbrennenden Version von No Fun auf der B-Seite.

Kurz danach war über den Titel und das Cover des zu folgenden Sex Pistols Album zu entscheiden. Ursprüngliche Versionen wurden God save the Sex Pistols genannt, und Jamie Reid hatte erste Entwürfe in leuchtend Gelb und Dunkelrot ausgearbeitet. Es sollte wiederum keine Abbildung der Gruppe sein, nur Beschriftung durch ausgeschnittene Buchstaben mit einer groben Auflösung, erinnernd an Bildschirm-Abdrucke. Während dem Sommer bekam das Album den Namen Never Mind the Bollocks, einem Satz von Steve Jones.

Cover für 'Holidays in the Sun'Um die Beachtung beizubehalten, wurde Holidays in the Sun als vierte Single aus dem Hut gezogen. McLaren und Reid erarbeiteten eine weitere Kampagne mit einem Video (nie erstellt) welches eine ‚Neu-Schöpfung der Fernsehwerbungen benutzt von der Sun und News of the World um Urlaubssendungen anzukündigen‘. Dies war die Blütezeit des graphischen Images der Sex Pistols. Unter Druck, Reid wollte seine Situationisten Beziehungen bekannt machen. Die Vorderseite des Covers war eine abgewandelte belgische Ferienbroschüre, welche als Comic eine typische Familie in einem typischen Urlaub darstellte. Reid setzte die Songtexte in die Sprechblasen ein, gleich wie es die Situationisten mit Detektiv-Comics taten.
Für die Rückseite, verwendetet eine Abbildung aus der Subruban Press, genannt Nice Drawing, und fügte einfach die Satellite Beschriftung aus dem 100 Club Plakat des vorhergehenden Jahres dazu. Für die Musikpresse-Werbung und grossen Plakate, nahm Reid eine Graphik die er für Chris Gray’s 1974 Uebersetzung der Situ Texte verwendete, und fügte Sprechblasen und einen alten Suburban Press Aufkleber hinzu: Halte diesen Winter warm, erzeuge Unruhen.‘

Original LP-Cover, 1977 Am 28. Oktober 1977, das Sex Pistols Album Never Mind the Bollocks – Here’s the Sex Pistols wurde vor-veröffentlicht, zwei Wochen bevor die weltweite Veröffentlichung eingeplant war. Glitterbest hatte bereits Tonbänder zum französischen Lizenz-Partner Barclay versendet und, als zusätzlich verzögerndes Element, beharrte darauf dass Virgin Submission zu den bereits gepressten elf Tracks hinzufügen sollte. In der letzten Oktober-Woche erfuhr Virgin von Barclays‘ Plan Kopien vor dem Freigabedatum nach England zu exportieren und Virgin veröffentlichte das Album vorzeitig.
Mit Bodies, dem Titel und dem bereits verbotenen God Save the Queen, wurde das Album aus Boots, Woolworths und W.H.Smith verbannt. Die Vorausbestellungen von mehr als 150’000 waren genug um die Platte geradeaus in die Charts als eindeutige Nummer Eins zu bringen. Es war eine Beinah-Wiederholung von God Save the Queen, aber anders als im Juni, dieses Mal war es ein Vollstopp, denn die Gruppe sollte nie wieder zusammen Platten aufnehmen.Dann 1979, die Veröffentlichung des Films The Great Rock’n’Roll Swindle und dem Soundtrack als Doppelalbum. Die Eröffnungsbilder des Filmes von zerlumpten Punks in den Gordon Riots betont erneut die verborgene aber machtvolle englische Tradition von Unordnung, bereits hervorgehoben durch God Save the Queen mit Ergebnissen die weiter nachhallen. ‚Am Ende,‘ sagt Jamie Reid, ‚war es unser Fehler dass wir unsere Ideen nicht gut genug artikulierten.‘ Trotz McLaren’s und Reid’s libertärer Absicht, ging The Great Rock’n’Roll Swindle unter, entsprechend ihrem Wunsch zu zerstören was sie kreiierten verbunden mit dem Zynismus der Zeit.Jamie Reid’s Arbeit demonstrierte die Kraft von graphischem Design in der Musikindustrie und öffnete die Tür für eine starke neue Generation von britischen Designer, deren Absichten unterschiedlich zu Jamie’s war. Sie verwendeten die kreative Freiheit der Musikindustrie als Schaukasten für vitales Design, unbeeinträchtigt von Unternehmens Kompromissen. Ihr Einfluss hat über die Musik hinaus Einfluss auf Mode, Medien und Konsumgüter-Verpackungen.In den folgenden Jahren arbeitet Jamie Reid für politische Bewegungen – die Anti-Kopfsteuer und Anti-Kriminalisierungsgesetz Kampagnen sind nur zwei derjenigen, welche von seinem einzigartigen Stil von visueller Anarchie profitiert haben – und Punk Bands wie die Dead Kennedys. 1989 entwarf Reid das Plakat für das ICA’s (dem Londoner Institut für zeitgenössische Kunst) zurückblickend auf die Situationistische Internationale, welches die Vorderseite von Reid’s und Gray’s Leaving the 20th Century verwendet und die SI von 1957 bis 1972 datiert!Peace is Tough eine Reise-Ausstellung mit Reid’s Arbeiten, startete 1989 als eine Galerie in Tokyo ihn um eine Retrospektive bat. Es war erst die zweite Ausstellung die er überhaupt je getan hatte und er entschied sich diese weiter unterwegs zu halten. 10 Jahre später ist die Ausstellung immer noch in Kunstmuseen zu sehen. Reid sagt Punk ist auch heute noch relevant und die DIY-Idee nie wirklich wegging. Leute müssen hinausgehen und die Dinge selber in die Hand nehmen, besonders ‚Leute die nicht das Privileg von Geld oder Zugang zum Bildungssystem haben‘. Reid’s selbst verlies die Schule im Alter von 16 – in der heutigen Welt würde er vermutlich keine Chance zum Besuch einer Kunstschule haben.

late workHeute ist Reid in die Strongroom Aufnahmestudios in London. Das Projekt wurde um eine Bar, Restaurant und Club erweitert welche sich im selben Gebäude wie die Studios befinden. Reid ist überzeugt, dass die Architektur moderner Arbeitsplätzen nur dazu dient, ‚Dich unterwürfig und unter dem Daumen zu halten‘. Die vibrierenden Farben und die auffallenden Bilder in den Strongroom Studios sind eine direkte Auflehnung gegen diese Idee.
Jamie Reid arbeitet weiter mit Musik und Musikern, und weiterhin ‚fasziniert von den Verbindungen zwischen Töne und Bilder‘.